March Madness Hits Peru!

2

March 21, 2013 by jiejie768

This is the bracket that I have the most confidence in. Thus, it's likely the one to do the worst.

This is the bracket that I have the most confidence in. Thus, it’s likely the one to do the worst.

Well, it’s been a long, long time since Meg and I posted anything on the blog, as a broken camera and a lack of new things to write about have hindered our blogging prowess. I promise that will change in the next week as we are finishing up a 9-day jaunt from Lima to Arequipa (Colca Canyon) to Puno (Lake Titicaca) to Cuzco and back to Lima with our good friend Mikey. However, even more important than that, is the fact that today is the beginning of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament (play-in games don’t count!). No matter what country I’m in (or how bad the Huskies are) this my favorite time of year. I will spend most of today hunting down TVs in Lima that are playing the games before Meg and I hop on a 10:15 p.m. bus back to Ayacucho, then it’s back to battling the Internet feeds in my dining room in Ayacucho for the rest of the tourney, well Meg tries to get her Master’s thesis finished.

Above, is my “official bracket.” This is the one that I allegedly have the most faith in. Below are Meg’s and my brackets (a different version for me) that will compete head-to-head in the only actual bracket competition for me this year. After that is my “Upset Special” in which I go out on a limb with a few of my selections (nothing too crazy, though — I still have No. 1 overall seed Louisville winning it all). Ironically, in our head-to-head brackets Meg and I unknowingly picked the same national title game (Indiana over Michigan State … Sorry, Annah!) and have three of four Final Four teams in common. It will be interesting to see how we do, as I’ve seen virtually no basketball that didn’t involve the Huskies this year (and we all know that was rarely NCAA-tourney-level hoops). Anyway, that’s the scoop and stay tuned over the next week or two for plenty of tales and even more pictures (Mikey brought Meg’s dad’s AWESOME SLR-body camera down to Peru for us to use – I shot more than 3,500 frames) from our trip.

This is Ryan's bracket that goes head-to-head with Meg for Peruvian March Madness supremacy.

This is Ryan’s bracket that goes head-to-head with Meg for Peruvian March Madness supremacy.

Here are Meg's picks for the 2013 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament.

Here are Meg’s picks for the 2013 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.

Here Ryan goes a little crazy and predicts a truly mad March.

Here Ryan goes a little crazy and predicts a truly mad March.

2 thoughts on “March Madness Hits Peru!

  1. stilesand says:

    I didn’t expect to have Ryan show the Zags doing much, but I thought you’d have more faith, Meg! Go Zags!

  2. chip says:

    Looks like both of your brackets are busted :0)… Gtown goes down… 3 Big Ten teams in the Final Four? Could happen.. Go Buckeyes! I read Mark Titus’s book on Ryan’s recommendation. Pretty funny. A little too raunchy for me :0), but I still had fun reading it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

