Meg’s Books, Month 2.5

1

November 21, 2012 by jiejie768

Anderston’s in the Andes Amazon Associate Link

9. “Home: A memoir of my early years,” by Julie Andrews – 9/10

I read this book in between sessions at the conferences I attended. I found it fascinating, and I think that anyone with an interest in musical theater and vaudeville will as well. Julie Andrews is a good writer and it was especially fun to “hear” the book in her voice. The only disappointment was that the book ended just as she is flying to Hollywood to begin filming “Mary Poppins” and never touches on “The Sound of Music”, my personal favorite. I believe she may have written another book about the later years that I’ll have to seek out at some point.

10. “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (and Other Concerns),” by Mindy Kaling – 9/10

This is another book that I read during conference week. It was hilarious, and I laughed out loud many times, probably scaring the Peruvians sitting nearby. Mindy Kaling is a former star and writer of “The Office”, one of my favorite TV shows. “The Office”‘s theme song even played a part in Ryan’s and my engagement. Kaling wrote this book just as she was starting her new show, “The Mindy Project” and a few of the jokes get recycled in that show. Ultimately though, the book is about growing up a really awkward, nerdy, but funny girl and parlaying hard work and quirkiness into success.

11. “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future,” by Michael J.Fox – 7/10

It was apparently biography week on my reading list! (Well, all the Amazon Daily Deals were biographies in late October). This was the last book I read during conference week. There was a lot of hurry up and wait, if you can’t tell. This was probably my least favorite, but I still liked it. I am a fan of Michael J, and especially the awareness he has raised for Parkinson’s research (my grandma suffered from the disease). This book discusses some of the life lessons he learned from his early career and struggles with PD. It’s worth reading for the “Back to the Future” references alone, and it inspired Ryan and I to watch “Doc Hollywood” on Netflix last night.

12. “Necromancing the Stone,” by Lish McBride – 6.5/10

I loved the first book in this series, but thought this one was just okay. It didn’t grab me the same way. Honestly, after reading it nearly a month ago, I barely remember anything about it. See Ryan’s review, I guess…

13. “Storm of Swords,” by George R.R. Martin (Book 3 in the “Song of Ice and Fire” (“Game of Thrones”) series) – 9/10

In between “Necromancing the Stone” and reading “Storm of Swords” I read about 47% (according to my Kindle) of another book that I won’t name here, lest the recommender be offended that I never finished it. At the same time, Ryan and I devoured the DVDs of Seasons 1 and 2 of HBO’s “Game of Thrones” TV series. We probably watched all 20 episodes in five days (what can I say, it was a holiday weekend and I had a sinus infection). After that, I couldn’t bring myself to be one of those people who says “What’s going to happen in Season 3?!?!” when there was a 1000+ page book that would tell me. Having not read books 1 and 2, I had to use Wikipedia to catch up on a few plot points but I wasn’t too far behind. I can see myself going back and reading the earlier books at some point, or at least key chapters, but for right now, I’m diving into “A Feast for Crows”, the fourth book in the series. See Ryan’s recap for a few more plot points.

“Meg Anderson and Ryan Johnston are participants in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.”

One thought on “Meg’s Books, Month 2.5

  1. […] books Click here for Month 2 of Ryan’s books Click here for Month 1.5 of Meg’s books Click here for Month 2.5 of Meg’s books Click here for the complete list of books we have read to […]

Leave a Reply

