Meg’s Books – Month 1.5

2

October 19, 2012 by jiejie768

I’m finally getting around to writing about September’s books and we’re almost done with October, so I’ll throw those in too. Our good friend and favorite former librarian suggested a rating system so I’ll throw that in the mix as well. Ryan’s ratings from his previous book post are on our “What we’re reading” page.

Since doing our first book post, we have become Amazon Associates. If you click on one of these links and end up buying something, we may get a small kickback from amazon.com. We are just trying to make not working (well, not being paid) for a year, work for us. We sincerely (I mean it) hope that’s okay with everyone who is reading.

The Trinity Game” by Sean Chercover – 8/10
As I believe Ryan said, if you like Dan Brown (“Da Vinci Code”, etc…), you’ll like this. I personally love Dan Brown, so this was a hit for me. It was interesting to see a (fictionalized) account of the Vatican position of “Devil’s Advocate”. Is this a real thing? Can someone confirm?

“The Loom,” by Shella Gillus – 6/10
This was a good story but self published Amazon books tend to have a lot of typos which drives me crazy. It wasn’t as well written as books like “The Kitchen House” or “The Help” but it is in that same vein, so it you liked those, you’ll probably like this. Also, it was free on the Kindle (and maybe still is).

Walking the Amazon: 860 Days. One Step at a Time.” by Ed Stafford – 6/10
Ed Stafford isn’t the best writer you’ll come across (but then, neither am I). He might just be the toughest man on the planet, though. Two hundred thousand mosquito bites over two-and-a-half years? I’ve probably gotten thirty since we’ve been here, and they can be agony. Also, the man WALKED.THE.AMAZON. Just, wow.

“Devil in the White City,”
by Erik Larsen (a book for my Seattle book club. Miss you, Bookjazzled!) – 7/10
Apparently, when people read this book, they either like the murder or the architecture. I liked the murder. What does that say about me? This is the true story of the Chicago World’s Fair, it’s architects, and a man who definitely killed eight people during the Fair and possibly hundreds more. Dark, but fascinating.

“Why Have Kids?” by Jessica Valenti – 5/10
This book was recommended by many feminist bloggers and writers I read. The author is the founder of the site “Feministing.” I thought it made some really good points about our need to accept ourselves and make choices that work for our lives, but it devolved into a bit of a rant for several chapters. Overall, I enjoyed it, but it kind of lost the plot for a while there (or maybe it just didn’t have the plot I wanted … who am I to say that Jessica Valenti didn’t accomplish exactly what she set out to do? I suppose that is the entire point of the book). This is a Kindle Monthly Deal for October, so you can get it for $1.99 for the next ten days or so.

Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal” by J.K. Rowling – 10/10 (duh)
Harry Potter is my favorite literary character of all time, and J.K. Rowling can do no wrong in English or Spanish (though I haven’t read “A Casual Vacancy” yet). I knew the whole story, obviously, so I won’t comment more on that. Let me say, if you have a high level of Spanish and want to improve your vocabulary, read this and look up the words you don’t know. I learned ten new ways to say “bellowed” or some variation there of. Thanks, Uncle Vernon, you horrible Muggle.

“The Mark of Athena: Heroes of Olympus” by Rick Riordan -9/10
I love these books…they have replaced Harry Potter for me in this Harry Potter-less world … that is to say, a world where there are no new Harry Potter books. The Boy Who Lived lives on. They even publish his story by hand in a world without power.) But I digress. You probably need to have read the original “Percy Jackson” series to enjoy these. “The Mark of Athena” is the third book in Riordan’s new series about the “Percy Jackson” characters, who journey to fulfill the Prophecy of the Seven, first spoken in the final P.J. book, “The Last Olympian”.

“Meg Anderson and Ryan Johnston are participants in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.”

2 thoughts on “Meg’s Books – Month 1.5

  1. Dad says:

    We are really enjoying your posts. I took both yours and Ryan’s advice and have just started reading Trinity Game. There are many discussions on the history/role of devil’s advocate within the Catholic Church if you google it. Appears the office/position was done away with in 1983 but the concept is still used on a case by case basis.

  2. […] here for Month 1 of Ryan’s books Click here for Month 2 of Ryan’s books Click here for Month 1.5 of Meg’s books Click here for Month 2.5 of Meg’s books Click here for the complete list of books we have […]

Leave a Reply

